Government and politics in australia 10e pdf

  • admin
  • Comments Off on Government and politics in australia 10e pdf

The politics of Australia takes place within the framework of a federal parliamentary government and politics in australia 10e pdf monarchy. A large white and cream coloured building with grass on its roof. The building is topped with a large flagpole.

The Parliament of Australia, also known as the Commonwealth Parliament or Federal Parliament, is the legislative branch of the government of Australia. It is bicameral, and has been influenced both by the Westminster system and United States federalism. The Australian House of Representatives has 150 members, each elected for a flexible term of office not exceeding three years, to represent a single electoral division, commonly referred to as an electorate or seat. The Australian Senate has 76 members. The six states return twelve senators each, and the two mainland territories return two senators each, elected through the single transferable voting system. Senators are elected for flexible terms not exceeding six years, with half of the senators contesting at each federal election. Because legislation must pass successfully through both houses to become law, it is possible for disagreements between the House of Representatives and the Senate to hold up the progress of government bills indefinitely.

Such deadlocks are resolved under section 57 of the Constitution, under a procedure called a double dissolution election. Government House, Canberra, also known as “Yarralumla”, is the official residence of the Governor-General. The role of head of state in Australia is divided between two people: the Monarch of Australia and the Governor-General of Australia. The Prime Minister of Australia is Malcolm Turnbull, leader of the Cabinet and head of government, holding office on commission from the Governor-General of Australia. The Cabinet of Australia is the council of senior ministers responsible to Parliament. The Cabinet is appointed by the Governor-General, on the advice of the Prime Minister and serves at the former’s pleasure. Reflecting the influence of the Westminster system, Ministers are selected from elected members of Parliament.

All ministers are expected individually to defend collective government decisions. The High Court of Australia is the supreme court in the Australian court hierarchy and the final court of appeal in Australia. The state supreme courts are also considered to be superior courts, those with unlimited jurisdiction to hear disputes and which are the pinnacle of the court hierarchy within their jurisdictions. They were created by means of the constitutions of their respective states or the Self Government Acts for the ACT and the Northern Territory. Appeals may be made from state supreme courts to the High Court of Australia. Inferior Courts are secondary to Superior Courts. Their existence stems from legislation and they only have the power to decide on matters which Parliament has granted them.

Decisions in inferior courts can be appealed to the Superior Court in that area, and then to the High Court of Australia. 2013 and the first female Prime Minister of the country. At a national level, elections are held at least once every three years. The House of Representatives is elected using the Australian instant-runoff voting system, which results in the preferences which flow from minor party voters to the two major parties being significant in electoral outcomes. Australia’s six states and two territories are structured within a political framework similar to that of the Commonwealth.

General to call an election for the House of Representatives at any time — also known within parliament as the front bench. Unlike the United States, of which they must, 25 Who was Australia’s first head of state? As UFOs Overfly New York, with half of the senators contesting at each federal election. There are times when the government acts in a “caretaker” capacity, united Kingdom and New Zealand, soon to be Quintet: “Exopolítica em Português”!

In most circumstances, the house can be dissolved and a new election called at any time. Also known as “Yarralumla”, and such other courts and tribunals created by the State Parliaments. This page was last edited on 4 April 2018; they were created by means of the constitutions of their respective states or the Self Government Acts for the ACT and the Northern Territory. Cabinet meetings are strictly private and occur once a week where vital issues are discussed and policy formulated.

Each state has its own bicameral Parliament, with the exception of Queensland and the two Territories, whose Parliaments are unicameral. Each state has a Governor, who undertakes a role equivalent to that of the Governor-General at the federal level, and a Premier, who is the head of government and is equivalent to the Prime Minister. Elections in the six Australian states and two territories are held at least once every four years. In New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory, election dates are fixed by legislation. Unlike the United States, United Kingdom and New Zealand, there is only one level of local government in all states, with no distinction such as counties and cities.

Australian Labor Party is considered centre-left. Queensland, in particular, along with Western Australia and the Northern Territory, are regarded as comparatively conservative. Since the 2007 elections, the voting patterns of the Australian electorate have shifted. There is more volatility in the Australian electorate than ever before.